200 Series

200 Series (2008–present)

Ninth generation – 200 Series Station Wagon

2008 Toyota Land Cruiser

Production 2008-present
Assembly Toyota Auto body
Toyota City, Aichi, Japan
Tahara, Aichi, Japan
Body style(s) 4-door SUV
Layout Front engine / four-wheel drive
Engine(s) 4.0 L V6 1GR petrol[5]
2.7 L I4 2TR petrol[5]
4.6 L V8 1UR petrol [6]
5.7 L V8 3UR petrol[7]
4.7 L V8 2UZ petrol[8]
4.5 L V8 1VD diesel turbo
Transmission(s) 6-speed automatic
5-speed automatic
5-speed manual
Wheelbase 2,850 mm (112.2 in)
Length 4,950 mm (194.9 in)
Width 1,970 mm (77.6 in)
Height 1,880 mm (74.0 in)
Related Lexus LX

The Toyota Land Cruiser was redesigned for 2008. Known as the 200 Series, it will share the 2008 Lexus LX‘s platform and overall design. Though many time-honored Land Cruiser supporters have welcomed the re-invigoration of the mechanical aspects of the vehicle, the 200 Series has encountered criticism due to its controversial body restyling, with some claiming that Toyota has ‘overdeveloped’ the classic trademarked Land Cruiser identity in its efforts to fit the Land Cruiser in to modern 21st century motoring. Toyota presented its completely redesigned Land Cruiser in October at the 2007 Australian International Motor Show in Sydney. The vehicle entered production in September and was available for sale in November 2007. Although the new Land Cruiser was presented at its first motor show in Sydney, it was already on sale in Japan, launched there in September 2007. It also became available in Venezuela for sale early in November under the local nickname of “Roraima” (Taken from Mount Roraima in Venezuela). The 200 Series is offered in three different levels of trim in Australia and Oceania:

  • GXL
  • VX
  • Sahara

The 200 Series, offered numerous features and upgrades over its predecessor not limited to the cosmetic changes made to the body and interior, including:

  • Smart Entry – A sensor is triggered when the remote is brought near the vehicle, allowing the user to simply touch the door handle to open it.
  • Smart Start – Start/Stop push button for ignition; a key is not required.
  • 4-zone climate control on Sahara models, with outlet vents increased from 18 to 28
  • 10 airbags (VX & Sahara)
  • Stronger and lighter frame

Various driver assist technologies not offered on previous models including:

  • CRAWL; a four-wheel drive control system that operates like an off-road cruise control, automatically maintaining a low uniform vehicle speed using brakes and throttle.
  • Downhill Assist Control
  • A newly developed ABS system, the multi-terrain anti-lock braking system (ABS)
  • Kinetic Dynamic Suspension System (KDSS), allows for greater wheel articulation

Engine and transmission improvements include:

  • An all new optional V8 Diesel engine, the Toyota VD engine (A Twin-turbo version of the engine used in the 70 Series since 2007).
  • Automatic transmission standard across all levels of trim of the 200 Series, 5-speed manual transmission is offered only with the 4.0L GX models (in selected regions). A five-speed automatic gearbox is assigned to the 4.7L petrol models, while the 4.5L diesel models receive a six-speed automatic.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: